Cutting Through the HIPAA Hype: What You Need to Know About the HITECH Act Rules
Date: Friday, January 25, 2013
Format: Live Webinar and Teleconference
Duration: 90 minutes
12:00 PM-1:30 PM Eastern
11:00 AM-12:30 PM Central
10:00 AM-11:30 AM Mountain
9:00 AM-10:30 AM Pacific
If you have not had time to read through the 563-page version of the HITECH Act omnibus rules published January 17, 2013, this webinar will get you up-to-speed fast. Even if you have read the rules, this webinar will provide in-depth analysis of the most significant changes that will affect your legal practice and your clients.
Our expert panel will discuss what the rules really say, and what covered entities and business associates need to do now to come into compliance.
Topics addressed will include:
- Obligations for business associates and their contractors
- Changes to the breach requirements
- New provisions for Notices of Privacy Practices
- Authorization and access changes
- Enforcement deadlines
- Next steps
W. Andrew Gantt, III, Partner, Cooley LLP, Washington, DC
Sue McAndrew, Deputy Director, Office for Civil Rights, Health Information Privacy, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Washington, DC
Kirk J. Nahra, Partner, Wiley Rein LLP, Washington, DC
Shannon Hartsfield Salimone, Partner, Holland & Knight LLP, Tallahassee, FLModerator: Deborah C. Hiser, Partner, Brown McCarroll LLP, Austin, TX
States typically decide whether a program qualifies for MCLE credit in their jurisdiction 4-8 weeks after the program application is submitted. For many live events, credit approval is not received prior to the program.
ABA live webinars and teleconferences ordinarily receive CLE credit in AL, AK, AR, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, GU, HI, IA, ID, IL, KY, LA, ME, MI, MN, MO, MT, NH, NM, NY, NC, ND, OK, OR, RI, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, VI, VT, WA, WI, WV, and WY.
The ABA does not seek direct accreditation of live webinars and teleconferences in IN, KS, NE, NJ, OH, and PA.
The ABA will seek credit for this program in the states indicated on this page. The ABA will seek 1.5 hours of general CLE credit in 60-minute-hour states and 1.8 hours of credit in 50-minute-hour states. Credit hours granted are subject to approval from each state. Click here to view a list of 60- and 50-minute-hour states.
Special rules apply to New York-licensed attorneys as follows:
New York: This non-transitional CLE program is approved for experienced NY attorneys in accordance with the requirements of the New York State CLE Board for 1.5 New York CLE credits. Newly admitted attorneys may not earn New York credit for this non-transitional CLE program.
All attorneys may click here to view additional MCLE information for your jurisdiction
Join the ABA and Save!
$115 Health Law Section Members
$150 ABA Members
$195 General Public
$95 Each additional registrant at the same location
$115 Single registrant
$50 Each additional registrant at the same location
All participants must register for the program.
View our cancellation policy
Apply for scholarship
Registrants may either dial into the audio teleconference option or log into the webinar. A current Internet browser, Adobe Flash and high-speed Internet is required. Test your system now.