The Sunshine Act: How to Avoid Getting Burned by Health Care Reform
Date: Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Format: Live Webinar
Duration: 90 minutes
1:30 PM-3:00 PM Eastern
12:30 PM-2:00 PM Central
11:30 AM-1:00 PM Mountain
10:30 AM-12:00 PM Pacific
On February 1, 2013, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) issued its long-anticipated final rule to implement the Sunshine Act (section 6002 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act). The Sunshine Act requires manufacturers of devices, drugs, biological products, and medical supplies to report payments and other transfers of value to physicians and teaching hospitals. But determining exactly what is expected and what will be required to comply with the Act remains murky.
This program will provide participants with expert guidance to help them navigate the obligations under the final rule. Complying with these national disclosure requirements is a significant undertaking for many and there are only a few months left to prepare for compliance. The pressure is intensified because the CMS will publish the data on a public website by September 30, 2014 for all to see.
Our panelists will discuss the final rule, strategies for compliance, and offer insights into best practices for topics, including:
- Reconciling the differences between state and federal Sunshine Act reporting requirements
- Controlling the expense of complying with the Act
- Developing systems to collect and allocate money spent in interactions with entities covered by the Act
- Determining the impact of the Act on research and product development activities
- Consolidating data from various source systems
There will be an opportunity for participants to ask questions about the new rules.
Kathrin E. Kudner, Member, Dykema Gossett PLLC, Ann Arbor, MI
Andrew Van Haute, Associate General Counsel, AdvaMed, Washington, DC
Stefanie A. Doebler (Moderator), Special Counsel, Covington & Burling, LLP, Washington, DC
States typically decide whether a program qualifies for MCLE credit in their jurisdiction 4-8 weeks after the program application is submitted. For many live events, credit approval is not received prior to the program.
ABA live webinars and teleconferences ordinarily receive CLE credit in AL, AK, AR, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, GU, HI, IA, ID, IL, KY, LA, ME, MI, MN, MO, MT, NH, NM, NY, NC, ND, OK, OR, RI, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, VI, VT, WA, WI, WV, and WY.
The ABA does not seek direct accreditation of live webinars and teleconferences in IN, KS, NE, NJ, OH, and PA.
The ABA will seek credit for this program in the states indicated on this page. The ABA will seek 1.5 hours of general CLE credit in 60-minute-hour states and 1.8 hours of credit in 50-minute-hour states. Credit hours granted are subject to approval from each state. Click here to view a list of 60- and 50-minute-hour states.
Special rules apply to New York-licensed attorneys as follows:
New York: This non-transitional CLE program is approved for experienced NY attorneys in accordance with the requirements of the New York State CLE Board for 1.5 New York CLE credits. Newly admitted attorneys may not earn New York credit for this non-transitional CLE program.
All attorneys may click here to view additional MCLE information for your jurisdiction
Join the ABA and Save!
A current Internet browser, Adobe Flash and high-speed Internet are required. Test your system now.