American Bar Association
 
Model Intellectual Property Security Agreement Joint Task Force

ABA Section of Business Law


Model Intellectual Property Security Agreement Joint Task Force


Mission Statement




The Model IP Security Agreement Task Force is working on a model security agreement and possibly other documents dealing with intellectual property as collateral.

Message from Task Force Chairs



The Model Intellectual Property Security Agreement (MIPSA) Joint Task Force will have its next teleconference meeting on Wednesday July 16, 2014.



  • Date: July 16, 2014 (third Wednesday of each month)
  • Time: 4:00 pm Eastern/3:00pm Central/2:00pm Mountain/1:00pm Pacific
  • Toll Free Dial-in: 866.646.6488
  • International Dial-in: +1.707.287.9583
  • Conference Passcode: 9101063640

The Task Force met most recently by teleconference on Wednesday May 21, and continued working through the Working Draft of the model agreement distributed at the Spring meeting in April (especially the default and remedy sections.


At the July meeting, we will be discussing a revised Working Draft (distributed to the listserv on July 9 and posted below.) We will focus again on Section 4 (Default), Section 5 (Remedies upon Default) and Section 6 (Power of attorney, indemnity, expenses). Many of the provisions in these sections have been rearranged and consolidated, to reduce repetition.


This draft also includes a number of changes to Sections 1, 2 and 3. Please try to ignore these changes; we are reconsidering many of them and don't want you to waste your time!


The Table of Contents and table of defined terms have been reinserted, along with placeholders for the footnotes (shown as endnotes in this draft.) The footnotes will be easier to draft when the body of the agreement is final (or at least close to final.)


Also posted below is a redlined copy showing changes from the draft discussed at the Spring Meeting (dated 4/2/14). Because of the rearrangements and formatting adjustments, however, I suggest you just use the clean copy.


Please try to call in to the meeting if you can, and let me know if you have any comments, questions or suggestions. Thanks for your participation in this project.


Kathi Allen

Join Us


MIPSA Recent Drafts


Leadership

Sub-Committee Chairs:

Allen, Katherine
Kavanaugh, Matthew

Sub-Committee Vice-Chairs:

Fournier, David
Murdock, John
Ziff, Elaine

Editor:

Darmstadter, Howard

Committee Roster  


Prior Reports

2013 Spring Meeting, 2012 Annual Meeting, 2011 Spring Meeting, 2010 Annual Meeting.
more...


Listserve

In order to send a message to the listserve, send a message to the email address below. You must be a member of the Committee to successfully send a message to the listserve.

BL-MIPSA@mail.americanbar.org

In order to access the listserve archive, please click here.


more...

Modified by Katherine Allen on July 10, 2014

Back to Top