American Bar Association
Criminal Justice Section: Criminal Justice Standards Committee

Criminal Justice Section:
Criminal Justice Standards Committee

About the Committee

The Standards Committee is responsible for keeping the prestigious multi-volume Standards for Criminal Justice up-to-date and relevant to criminal justice policymakers and practitioners. Appointed by the ABA President from recommendations of the Section Chair, its nine members commission task forces to draft new Standards on emerging issues or to propose revisions to existing Standards. The Committee reviews, refines, and presents the task forces' proposed "black letter" Standards to the Criminal Justice Section Council for approval prior to their submission to the ABA House of Delegates. Once the Standards are approved as ABA policy, the Committee approves commentary to accompany them in published volumes.


The Standards Committee, chaired by John Cline, will take a number of steps during the forthcoming Association Year to ensure that the ABA Criminal Justice Standards continue to be relevant, timely, and of the highest quality. Specifically:

Early in the new year, the Committee will print a paperback publication on the Free Trial and Public Discourse containing both “black letter” and extensive commentary. The Standards were drafted by a Task Force led by Ron Goldstock. The commentary was drafted by reporter Prof. Jessica Roth.

The Prosecution and Defense Function Standards were approved by the ABA House of Delegates at the Midyear 2015 meeting. Professor Rory Little has begun work on the commentary. Once commentary is finished it will be reviewed by the Standards Committee and the publication process will begin.

Standards Committee expects to present the Juvenile Justice Standards on Dual Jurisdiction, Cross-Over and Multi-Needs Youth to the CJS Council in 2016. The Task Force Chair is Hon. Ernestine Gray. The Task Force Reporter is Prof. Kristin Henning.

Standards present the revised Mental Health Standards to the CJS Council in 2015. The task force is chaired by Prof. Chris Slobogin and the reporter is Prof. Larry Fitch.

A task force to review the Discovery Standards will continue meeting in 2015-6. Hon. Marty Marcus is will chair this task force. The reporter is Prof. Jennifer Laurin.

A new task force to review the existing Juvenile Justice Standards is being formed. The task force is chaired by Marsha Levick.

Books From Our Committee



    Cline, John


    Modified by Kyo Suh on October 9, 2015

    Back to Top