American Bar Association
Customs Law Committee

Customs Law Committee

About the Committee

This committee is concerned with the full range of laws and regulations administered by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) in connection with the importation and exportation of merchandise. These laws and regulations relate to such topics as: valuation and classification of merchandise, penalties and liquidated damages, free trade agreements, duty preference programs, duty drawback, foreign trade zones, bonded warehouses, temporary imports, quotas, intellectual property rights, country of origin determination, record-keeping requirements, and entry eligibility requirements. The committee also focuses on voluntary programs established by CBP, as well as enforcement initiatives and developments. In addition, the committee is involved with international harmonization efforts, and the comparative operations and regulations of Customs agencies outside of the United States.

*If you are interested in volunteering or assisting with the Committee’s activities throughout the year, please contact one of the Committee's co-chairs, Leslie Alan Glick and Greg Kanargelidis, or one of the vice chairs responsible for your area of interest:

Programs, Meetings & Events

Section Events

    Section 232 Cases: Protecting U.S. National Security or Risking International Trade Wars?


    The event will be held on 06/21/2018. The format is In-Person. The event sponsor(s) are Section of International Law. The event has 0.00 CLE Credits .

    International 101 Bootcamp

    JW Marriott Marquis

    The ABA Section of International Law is pleased to offer its next series in the International Law Bootcamp Program, an engaging presentation that will provide a practical overview of how international law impacts legal practice across several areas, including: Contracts Litigation Ethics Anti-Corruption ...

    Comparative Methodology and Attribution in Cyber Operations


    A major issue in responding to Cyber Operations is the question of attribution. As with rules of engagement in combat, both law and policy have assumed stringent requirements of positive identification of adversaries. This is a very hard standard to meet in the world of cyberspace where actors usually ...



Draa, Horace
Glick, Leslie
Message From The Chair


Frederick, Brandi
Hanson, Lawrence
Horvath, Jennifer
Kathuria, Sacha
Quinter, Peter
Rodriguez, Rebecca


Goodale, Geoffrey
Kanargelidis, Gregory
Martinez, Christine
Ross, Susan

Committee Roster  

Modified by Shama Patari on April 4, 2016

Back to Top