American Bar Association
International Arbitration Committee

International Arbitration Committee

About the Committee

This committee's activities aim to promote and improve international arbitration as a method of resolving cross-border disputes. The committee emphasizes the development and dissemination of best practices in this field through educational and training programs on procedural and substantive aspects of international arbitration under both institutional and ad hoc rules. The committee is also a platform for publications on international arbitration, and monitors current legislation and case law in order to take, where appropriate, legal and policy positions that are consistent with enhancing the effectiveness of this method of dispute resolution.

Committee Events and Other Related Events

2016 Americas Forum

February 28, 2016 - March 1, 2016

Mandarin Oriental Miami

500 Brickell Key Drive

Miami, Florida 33131

United States

Why Attend? The Latin and Central American region is home to some of the world’s most important emerging markets and is a key trading partner to Canada and the United States. It is also a quickly evolving region as the political landscape shifts, and Miami is quickly establishing itself as the crossroads of the Americas. The time is now for leading experts and interested legal professionals to cultivate the professional understanding and discourse of the legal framework and issues that are relevant to the region. Program highlights include practical discussions of key issues in different sectors of practice in the Americas as well as ample networking opportunities.

Agenda: This dynamic Forum will highlight distinguished speakers discussing issues of importance to the Latin and Central American region, including a Corporate Counsel roundtable, the state of arbitration in the Americas, Investor-State disputes in the region, professional ethics in the Americas, complex cross border litigation issues that can arise from a cross border practice in the Americas, politics and M&A, private equity and venture capital, CAFTA, NAFTA, and the TPP, and energy and natural resources.

Section of International Law 2016 Spring Meeting

Location: Grand Hyatt New York
109 E 42nd St Park Avenue/Grand Central

New York, NY 10017-5698

Date: April 12-16, 2016

For three days in April 2016, nearly 1,500 lawyers, judges, law professors, law students and representatives of governments and NGOs from around the world will meet in New York City to teach, learn, discuss, network, socialize and experience the “City That Never Sleeps!” Famous places like Wall Street, Broadway, Fifth Avenue, Madison Avenue, 42nd Street, Times Square and Central Park epitomize what the “Crossroads of the World” offers: New York City is not only the financial center of the world and home to the United Nations, but also is an exciting and diverse smorgasbord of history, world politics, business, law, art, architecture, music, theatre, food, fashion and sports. That is why, for hundreds of years, New York City has attracted people from around the world. And, in light of the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks, the Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor is still a poignant symbol of humans “yearning to breathe free.” All of these aspects will be reflected in the programming, making New York City the perfect host city for a successful and memorable Spring Meeting!

Our Committee has sponsored "What You Don't Know Can Hurt You: Ethics Considerations When Choosing a Seat of Arbitration."

Arbitration Resources

Click here to see more arbitration resources:

Join Us



Dodge, Kirstin
Ridgway, Delissa


Brennan, Lorraine
Carducci, Guido
Dendorfer-Ditges, Renate
Harrison, Douglas
Herrera, Sujey
Liatowitsch, Manuel
Lowry, Houston
Mascarenhas, Viren
Meyer-Fabre, Nathalie
Montinari, Micael
Senn, Mara
Sussman, Edna

Committee Roster  

Related Schedule of Events

Committee Events

Fourth Annual ICC Conference on Arbitration in the MENA Region, Dubai

April 11, 2016 - April 13, 2016
Taking place in English and Arabic, this fourth annual conference is a "must attend" for arbitration professionals who want to keep up to date on the latest arbitration developments in the MENA region. The conference will offer a line-up of top-class speakers, topical discussions and relevant news, but also an excellent opportunity to network.
Section Events

    The Use of Positive Deviance in Government Functionary Exortion Situations: Latest Results


    For the past 10 years, the ABA International Section has sponsored programs and workshops on the Positive Deviance Approach to ethically, successfully and safely secure from governments what rightfully belongs to our clients without submitting to government functionary extortion. More recently, the ABA ...

    India-United States Cross Border Investment 2.0.


    The event will be held on 02/18/2016 - 02/19/2016. The format is In-Person. The event sponsor(s) are Section of International Law. The event has 0.00 CLE Credits .

    Live from L: The Iran Nuclear Deal


    Cosponsored by the American Society of International Law and George Washington University Law School. In-person location: Jacob Burns Moot Courtroom of George Washington University Law School, Washington, DC Speakers:Mary McLeod Principal Deputy Legal Adviser, U.S. Department of StateNewell L. Highsmith ...


Modified by Sujey Herrera on January 11, 2016

Back to Top