American Bar Association
Section of International Law: China Committee

Section of International Law:
China Committee

Mission Statement

This committee supports ABA members with interests in China-related legal matters. Committee work, in the United States and in China, including the Chinese mainland, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macau, includes review, analysis, comment, and information-sharing on matters of law, legal practice, and related policy as well as social and business networking events. Additionally, the committee organizes and sponsors educational programs relevant to China practice. The committee's scope crosses borders and addresses China related issues that may originate from continents other than North America and Asia. Within China and the Chinese territories, the China committee works to facilitate links and understanding between the ABA and local bar associations, and also with legal practitioners based in China but licensed from other countries, as well as both Chinese and international law students.

Upcoming Calls/Programs/Past Programs Audio Files

Committee Events

Monthly China Committee Conference Calls

August 8, 2016 - August 22, 2017
We welcome everyone to join on our monthly Committee Conference Call.

For 2016/7, the call schedule is:

8:30pm ET calls: 27 September 2016, 25 October 2016, 20 December 2016, 24 January 2017, 18 March 2017, 25 April 2017, 27 June 2017 and 25 July 2017; and

8:30am ET calls: 29 November 2016, 28 February 2017, 23 May 2017, 22 August 2017.

The dial-in information is:Toll-free dial-in number (U.S. and Canada): 866-646-6488

International dial-in number: 707-287-9583
Conference code: 6149775772

Navigating Antitrust Investigations in China - Webinar or In-Person Seminar

October 17, 2016
ABA Section of Antitrust Law, International Committee
ABA Section of International Law, International Antitrust and China Committees Present:
Navigating Antitrust Investigations in China
October 17, 2016
12-13:30 EDT
China's Anti-Monopoly Law Agencies continue to be active, including by investigating several multinational corporations and issuing numerous regulations and draft guidelines, including on antitrust intellectual property issues. Join this panel of international experts to discuss recent developments by China's National Development and Reform Commission and State Administration for Industry and Commerce.

Speakers Include:
* Maureen Ohlhausen, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
* Xin Roger Zhang, East Concord Law
* Fay Zhou, Linklaters LLP
* Wei Tan (Compass Lexecon)
* Mark Whitener (GE)
In-person option at Compass Lexecon - 1101 K Street NW, 8th Floor Washington, DC 20005

Section Events

    Free Trade Agreement Negotiations: Bilateral versus Multilateral


    Location: Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Suite 400 Washington, DC 20004 President Trump has scrapped the multilateral Trans-Pacific Partnership trade agreement and has stated that he intends to renegotiate NAFTA. He has made it clear that, instead of these multilateral agreements, ...

    What Foreign Lawyers Need to Know About Changes in US Immigration Laws


    Location: Syed Law Firm Conference Center 1250 Connecticut Ave., NW Suite 825 Washington, DC 20036 Phone: 202-503-1425 Since many overseas businesses and families are impacted by changes in US immigration law and practice, this program will inform ABA members located outside of the USA about recent ...

    The Future of the Customs Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (C-TPAT)


    Locations: The American Bar Association 1050 Connecticut Ave., NW Suite 570 Washington, DC 20036 GrayRobinson, P.A. 333 SE 2nd Avenue 32nd Floor Miami, Florida 33131 C-TPAT (Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism) has now grown to over 10,000 member in the United States and beyond our ...

Steering Group Members

Richard Cant, Drew Foerster, Alex Hao, Yanling Jang, Zachary Klein, Fabio Alberto Regoli, Albert Tan, Qian Xie, Yujia Wei and Sidney Weiss



Edelberg, Paul
Wang, Elizabeth
Zhang, Philip
Message From The Co-Chairs


Gui, Jia
Hernandez-Colet, Gerard
Hou, Jiangxiao
Minear, Andrew
Murphy, Matthew
Nee, Owen
Suwanto, Fabiola
Wilson, Deanne

Committee Roster  

Modified by Matthew Murphy on October 30, 2016

Back to Top