American Bar Association
General Committees: Aviation and Space Law

General Committees:
Aviation and Space Law


The Aviation and Space Law Committee addresses all issues relating to aviation law including liabilities and obligations arising out of the manufacture, ownership, maintenance and use of aircraft; aviation accident litigation; coverage afforded by aviation insurance policies; and legal issues arising from the growing commercialization of space. For questions or comments about the information on the Aviation and Space Law Committee website or to suggest additional content, please contact our Web Coordinator:

Message From The Chair

Dear Colleagues,

I hope everyone had an enjoyable summer. The ABA TIPS Aviation Committee will host its annual program - “Aviation and Litigation in Today’s World” - on October 19-20 at the Ritz Carlton in Washington, DC, and you won’t want to miss it. We have an experienced group of speakers addressing such hot topics as claims of toxic cabin air, the privatization of air traffic control and space exploration, and the latest developments in airline passenger claims and the impact of social media on the passenger/carrier relationship, and will have in-house counsel and representatives from major airline carriers and aviation component manufacturers in attendance. We will also hear special presentations regarding jury deselection in the catastrophic case and the significance of the Hindenburg disaster on the aviation insurance industry. Our keynote speaker this year will be Bobby Sturgell , former acting administrator of the FAA, now with Rockwell Collins, who will discuss Automation and Aviation – A look ahead.

I want to extend a special thank you to those who are sponsoring this year’s program. So many firms stepped up and contributed to help make this event possible. You can see a list of the sponsoring firms on the brochure, and they will also be recognized at the program. Sponsorship opportunities are still available for those that are interested. Please contact me at or Jennifer Lachance at for more details on sponsorship opportunities.

I want to express special thanks to Ladd Sanger for his leadership last year and helping me transition into this year as chair, and to Thea Capone, a member of the Section Council (and a former committee chair) for her continual guidance to those who chair this committee. Thea is a wonderful advocate for this committee and is congratulated on her new position as Vice President of the Torts and Insurance Practice Section of the ABA. Garrett Pendleton and Dave Harrington also deserve kudos for their work on establishing our law student writing competition last year and for spearheading the project again this year. Leane Capps is the committee’s newsletter editor and would greatly appreciate articles and case law updates for the committee newsletter. Please send those to her at

I also want to thank Janet Hummons and Donald Quarles with the ABA who work tirelessly to keep a handle on the logistics of the program, ensuring deadlines are met, and getting the CLE approved.

I hope to see everyone in Washington D.C.

With kind regards,

Jenny Henry

Previous Aviation and Space Law Event: Aviation and Space Law Committee National Program

We were honored to host our 2015 CLE luncheon speaker, Jeffrey Shane, General Counsel of IATA.
From left to right: Jim Blaney of British Airways, Gary Halbert of Holland & Knight, Hon. Frederick Marshall of the Supreme Court of New York, Jeffrey Shane, General Counsel of IATA, Orla Brady of Department of Justice, David Harrington of Condon & Forsyth, and Steve Wood of Chuhak & Tecson.

Jennifer Urban, 2016 Annual Aviation and Space Law Student Writing Competition winner. Also pictured, Garrett Pendleton, competition co-organizer. Not pictured, co-organizer David Harrington.

Committee Newsletter

Fall 2016 - PDF

Fall 2013 - PDF

Winter 2011 - PDF

Summer 2011 - PDF

Fall 2010 - PDF

Summer 2010 - PDF

Winter 2009 - PDF

Fall 2006 - PDF

Winter 2006 - PDF

Fall 2005 - PDF

Fall 2004 - PDF

Spring 2004 - PDF

Fall 2003 - PDF

Spring 2003 - PDF

Fall 2002 - PDF

Spring 2002 - PDF

Newsletter Archives

Join Us



Henry, Jennifer


Pendleton, Garrett

Committee Roster  

Programs, Meetings and Events

Section Events

Related Links


The Committee

2009/2010 Annual Report

Modified by Christopher Steward on September 6, 2017

Back to Top