American Bar Association
Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability Law
TIPS Section

Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability Law

Who We Are

The Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability Committee focuses on workers’ compensation laws throughout the United States, including the interaction between workers’ compensation and other federal and state laws and regulations. Our Committee publishes several newsletters per year and provides educational instruction through webinars and an annual workers’ compensation seminar, which address substantive legal issues and national trends by experts in the field.

Welcome from Committee Chair

Welcome to the TIPS Workers’ Compensation and Employers’ Liability Committee. During the 2014-2015 year there will be many chances for our committee members to become involved. Please join our monthly conference calls to find out the interesting opportunities available for you.

Membership Vice Chair, Cathy Surbeck (, and Diversity Vice Chair, Antonio Jeffrey (, will be helping us think of creative ways to broaden and strengthen our membership base.

At each of the in-person meetings (Napa, CA; Houston, TX; Philadelphia, PA; Chicago, IL) we will be having social networking events. If you have suggestions or recommendations, please contact our Social Vice Chair, Josh Holden ( In Napa, we will be joined for dinner on Friday, October 17, 2014 by the Employment Law and Staff Counsel Committees.

This year we will publish four newsletters. The due dates for submission of articles are October 31, 2014, January 30, 2015, April 17, 2015 and June 17, 2015. Please submit your articles for the newsletter directly to Lindsey Mills (

For the first time, we will be preparing a 50 State Workers’ Compensation Compendium. There will be multiple sections per state to allow participation in this project by several practitioners in each state. Debra Doby ( will be reaching out to our members to author sections of the book.

We are planning on offering several CLE options this year. A webinar/teleconference premium fraud mini-series is being put together in conjunction with the Insurance Regulation and Self Insurers and Risk Managers Committees. Webinar Vice Chair, Jay Wolman ( is exploring ideas for programs that will solidify your proficiency as a workers’ compensation attorney. Please reach out to Jay if you have suggestions for future programs. An in-depth medical webinar/teleconference series is planned to address everything you need to know about medical conditions/injuries, diagnostic testing, physical examination findings and treatment options. If there are any medical experts who you believe would make excellent presenters, please provide their contact information and area of expertise to Christian Davis (

Our Committee will again co-sponsor the Mid-Winter Seminar and Conference with Labor and Employment Law’s Workers’ Compensation Committee. The conference will take place March 19-21, 2015 in Naples, FL.

If you have ideas about more ways that we can help you be successful and a leader in the field, please contact me at We are always looking for ways to improve the Committee membership benefits for you.

Together we will have a great year.

Stacy A. Tees


ABA TIPS Workers’ Compensation and Employers’ Liability Committee

Committee Meetings

September Conference Call

September 15, 2014
4:00 pm Eastern time
Dial-In Number: 866-646-6488
Conference Code: 1885350536
Meeting Agenda

October In-Person Meeting

October 18, 2014
2:00 pm Pacific time
The Meritage Resort & Spa
Napa, CA
Meeting Agenda

November Conference Call

November 17, 2014
4:00 pm Eastern time
Dial-In Number: 866-646-6488
Conference Code: 1885350536

December Conference Call

December 15, 2014
4:00 pm Eastern time
Dial-In Number: 866-646-6488
Conference Code: 1885350536

January Conference Call

January 19, 2015
4:00 pm Eastern time
Dial-In Number: 866-646-6488
Conference Code: 1885350536

March Conference Call

March 16, 2015
4:00 pm Eastern time
Dial-In Number: 866-646-6488
Conference Code: 1885350536

Join Us



Tees, Stacy

Council Representative:

Cartafalsa, John


Coulter, Janet
Cozart, Effie
Davis, Christian
Desai, Anish
Doby, Debra
Drummond, Charley
Fish, Michael
Gasser, Adrienne
Hashem, Saba
Holden, Joshua
Jeffrey, Antonio
Kohl, Deborah
Mills, Lindsey
Nason, Leonard
Paskiewicz, Elizabeth
Schiff, Matthew
Seelig, Todd
Slemons, Dale
Spieler, Emily
Strachan, Gerald
Stubbs, Cliff
Surbeck, Catherine
Wolman, Jay Marshall
Zavala, Mario

Committee Minutes


Stay Connected

ABA-TIPS Meetings Dates

Modified by Carlos Vivanco on October 8, 2014

Back to Top