American Bar Association
Cybersecurity, Privacy and Data Protection

Cybersecurity, Privacy and Data Protection

Committee Mission

To provide timely information to the legal community on developments involving cybersecurity, privacy, and data protection in the context of government contracting; to monitor, review, and comment on developments in these areas as they relate to government contracting and associated activities; and to propose best practices and practical solutions to legal and contractual challenges associated with government contracting in these areas.

Programs, Meetings and Events

Committee Events

Monthly Meeting featuring a presentation by Bob Metzger

April 13, 2015
Time: 12:00 - 1:00PM

Call-in Number: Dial-in: 1-888-204-5987 | Code: 1637619

Bob Metzger of Rogers Joseph O'Donnell will present on how the federal government will use acquisition methods and contract tools to improve the cybersecurity of contractors who support civilian agencies. He will look at the federal interests in controlled unclassified information, threats to this information when transmitted by or resident in nonfederal information systems, and related initiatives of multiple agencies to impose minimum NIST-derived controls across the federal supply chain.

Bob’s presentation builds upon his published articles on DoD’s protection of unclassified controlled technical information, here, and on civilian agency initiatives to protect controlled unclassified information, here.

Section Events



Bodenheimer, David
Kelly, Maureen
Pickens, Annejanette


Ayiotis, Christina
Burd, Jon
Chiow, Jeffery
Chudd, Daniel
Donohue, Anne
Ferrell, Elizabeth
Henderson, Kathryn
Jones, John
Lavallee, Fernand
Schive, Laurie
Sheppard, Erin
Smith, John
Stanton, Patrick
Svetz, Holly
Whytsell, J
Yuan, Howard
Zamaray, Oliya

Committee Roster  

Modified by Maureen Kelly on April 13, 2015

Back to Top