Jump to Navigation | Jump to Content
American Bar Association

Pro Bono Reporting Links

ABA Model Rule 6.1

Table of State Ethics Rules

Standards for Pro Bono Programs

Emeritus Attorney Rules

Pro Bono Reporting

CLE Credit for Doing Pro Bono

State-by-State

Guide for Bar Leaders & Others

Arguments in Favor and Against

State Reporting Policies

States with Mandatory Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting Status Date of Adoption Type of Bar Number Reporting % of Attorneys Doing Pro Bono Average Hoursof Pro Bono Per Attorney* Total # of Pro Bono Hours Provided Contact
Florida Mandatory Reporting
on dues statement--failure to report is treated as a secondary offense

Florida Rules of Professional Conduct Rule 4-6.1
1993, upheld 1997 Unified 2009: 51%
2010: 52%
22
22
1,545,157
1,614,676
Contact:
Kent Spuhler
850-385-7900
kent@floridalegal.org
Hawaii Mandatory Reporting

Order Amending Rule 17(d) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the State of Hawaii
2007 Unified 2009: 50%
2010: 47%
32
68
231,189
232,325
Contact:
Dew Kaneshiro
808-528-7051
dew@vlsh.org
Illinois Mandatory Reporting
on dues statement

Illinois Supreme Court Rule 756(f)
6/6/2007 Voluntary 2009: 32%
2010: 30%
26
27
2,197,041
2,328,770
Contact:
Kelly Tautges
312-554-8356
ktautges@chicagobar.org
Maryland Mandatory Reporting
failure to report leads to loss of license. If fill out report, Court will reinstate.

Maryland Rules of Procedure, Rule 16-903
2/2/2007 Voluntary 2009: 54% 33 1,139,866 Contact:
Sharon Goldsmith
410-837-9379
sgoldsmith@probonomd.org
Mississippi Mandatory Reporting
failure to report is a disiciplinary offense.

Mississippi Supreme Court Rules, Rule 6.1
3/5/2007 Unified 2009: 53%
2010: 44%
24
14
183,016
122,430
Contact:
Davetta Lee
601-948-4471
dlee@msbar.org
Nevada Mandatory Reporting
form sent w/dues statement

Nevada Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 6.1
5/3/2007 Unified 2009: 43%
2010: 31%
44 (Tier 1 pro bono only)
48
115,443 (Tier 1 Pro Bono Only)
140,601
Contact:
Melanie Kushnir
702-386-1070
mkushnir@lacsn.org
New Mexico Mandatory Reporting
Mandatory Reporting form provided with annual dues statement.

Rules Governing the New Mexico Bar Rule 24-108
1/22/2008 Unified 2009: 67% of active attorneys
2010: 65%
65

66
275,733

271,261
Contact:
Amy LaFaver
505-797-6077
alafaver@nmbar.org
New York Mandatory Reporting

Rules of the Chief Administrative Judge, Part 118.1(e)(14)
5/1/2013 Voluntary N/A N/A N/A N/A Contact:
Gloria Herron Arthur
518-487-5640
garthur@nysba.org
* Average is the total # of pro bono hours divided by the total number of inactive and active attorneys in the state.

States with Voluntary Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting Status Date of Adoption Type of Bar Number Reporting Comments Contact
Arizona Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement
1994 Unified Response rates: 31% in '95; 35% in '96. Contact:
Betty Flores
602-252-4804 x215
Betty.Flores@staff.azbar.org
Georgia Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement and on webpage
6/1/2000 Unified Response rate: 8% in '98 via CLE Form; Rule 6.1 adopted 6/00; reporting policy adopted after promotion by two members of S.Ct. Contact:
Michael Monahan
404-527-8762
mike@gabar.org
Kentucky Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement
6/14/2005 Unified Rule 6.1.Response rates: 12% in '96; 15% in '98; 16% in '07. Contact:
Jackie Duncan
859-255-9913 x18
jduncan@ajfky.org
Louisiana Voluntary Reporting
full page form enclosed with dues statement
6/1/1998 Unified Response rates 8-9% in '98 and 15% in '01; 11% in '02; 11% in '03; 11% in '04; 11% in '05; 10% in '06. Contact:
Monte Mollere
504-619-0146
mmollere@lsba.org
Michigan Voluntary Reporting
Underconsideration
Unified Working Group WG of Planning Cmte. PC of Access to JWorking Group WG of Planning Cmte. PC of Access to Justice Task Force AJTF recommended later consideration of mandatory if voluntary "does not sufficiently increase attorney participation." Contact:
Robert Mathis
517-346-6412
rmathis@mail.michbar.org
Montana Voluntary Reporting
6/22/2005 Unified 60% in '10 Contact:
Patricia Fein
406-794-7824
pfain@mt.gov
Ohio Voluntary Reporting
9/20/07 Voluntary X Supreme Court commentary
Response Rates: 12% in '08
Contact:
E. Jane Taylor
Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation
614-715-8568
jtaylor@olaf.org
Oregon Voluntary Reporting
Reporting Form
Unified Contact:
Cathy Petrecca
503-431-6355
cpetrecca@osbar.org
Tennessee Voluntary Reporting
on TBA dues statement since 2006
6/27/2005 Voluntary X on TBA dues statement Compliance rates: 4% in '05; 6% in '06; 20% in '07 increase due to more prominent placement on dues statement. Contact:
Sarah Hayman
615-277-3233
shayman@tnbar.org
Texas Voluntary Reporting
in 2005, began doing an annual telephone survey of 500 randomly selected attorneys about their pro bono work instead of voluntary reporting - more statistically reliable
6/14/2005 Unified Resolution.Response rates:94/95 - 39.5%; 95/96 - 40.1%; 96/97 - 34.7%; 97/98 - 21.3%; 98/99 - 17.3%; 99/00 - 21.1%; 2000 - 38.7%; 2001 - 37.9%. Format changes '97-'99 reduced prominence of legal services to poor category. Contact:
Trish McAllister
512-427-1855
trish.mcallister@texasbar.com
Virginia Voluntary Reporting
The Virginia State Bar is mandatory and unified, while the Virginia Bar Association VBA is voluntary. Resolution to Enhance Pro Bono Publico passed by Bar Council several years ago that encouraged attorneys to report voluntarily. Contact:
Maureen Petrini
804-775-0522
petrini@vsb.org
Washington Voluntary Reporting
a separate form included with the annual licensing packet
9/1/2003 Unified Compliance rates: 13% in '03; 13% in '04; 13% in '05; 15% in '06. Contact:
Allison Durazzi
206-733-5942
allisond@wsba.org

States with No Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting Status Type of Bar Number Reporting Comments Contact
Alabama No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Linda Lund
334-269-1515 x2246
linda.lund@alabar.org
Alaska No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Krista Scully
907-272-7469
scullyk@alaskabar.org
Arkansas No Reporting Voluntary X Committee recommended new mandatory reporting 6.1 rule - not adopted yet by Supreme Court. Contact:
Amy Johnson
501-376-3423 x112
adjohnson@arkansasjustice.org
California No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Sharon Ngim
415-538-2267
sharon.ngim@calbar.ca.gov
Colorado No Reporting
Mandatory Reporting rejected
Voluntary X Rejected S.Ct. rejected in 5/99 Contact:
Kathleen Schoen
303-824-5310
kschoen@cobar.org
Connecticut No Reporting Voluntary X Contact:
Danisha Lewis
860-612-2003
dlewis@ctbar.org
DC No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Monika Kalra Varma
202-737-4700 x3201
MKVarma@dcbar.org
Delaware No Reporting X Contact:
Susan Simmons
302-658-5279 x101
ssimmons@dsba.org
Idaho No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Anna Almercio
208-334-4510 x1870
aalmerico@isb.idaho.gov
Indiana No Reporting Voluntary X Rule 6.5 re: judicial committees adopted 10/97, later renumbered to Rule 6.6. Pro bono district projects report on the number of voluntary attorneys, hours and numbers of cases and attorneys can voluntarily report as well. Contact:
Monica Fennell
317-269-2415
mfennell@inbf.org
Iowa No Reporting Voluntary X Contact:
Brett Toresdahl
515-244-8617
isbavlp@dwx.com
Kansas No Reporting Voluntary X Contact:
Kelsey Schrempp
785-234-5696
kschrempp@ksbar.org
Maine No Reporting Voluntary X Contact:
Juliet Holmes Smith
207-774-5518
jholmes-smith@vlp.org
Massachusetts No Reporting
Mandatory Reporting rejected
Voluntary X Cmte. of Supreme Judicial Court SJC recommended mandatory in preliminary report 4/98 but eliminated from final report 11/98 due to controversy. Contact:
Sheila Hubbard
617-423-0648
shubbard@vlpnet.org
Minnesota No Reporting Voluntary X In 7/99, MSBA approved recommendation to petition S.Ct. for "required reporting" to be included with annual attorney registration statement. Petition to S.Ct. filed 10/99, hearing 12/99, denied 4/00: "Would not significantly advance or assist in the obligation of lawyers to provide pb. svcs." Contact:
Steve Marchese
612-278-6308
smarchese@mnbar.org
Missouri No Reporting Unified Rule 6.1. Average 10% response rate. Contact:
Robert Stoeckl
573-638-2225
rstoeckl@mobar.org
Nebraska No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Jean McNeil
800-927-0117
jmcneil@nebar.com
New Hampshire No Reporting Unified Contact:
Virginia Martin
603-224-6942
vmartin@nhbar.org
New Jersey No Reporting Voluntary Statewide mandatory pro bono - attorneys can be assigned one pro bono case per year unless exempt b/c provided 25 hours of pro bono services to an approved provider. Contact:
Sharon Balsamo
732-937-7505 x7544
sbalsamo@njsba.com
North Carolina No Reporting See Comments X The North Carolina Bar Association is a voluntary bar association. The North Carolina State Bar is the mandatory, regulatory agency in North Carolina. Contact:
Michelle Cofield
919-657-1565
mcofield@ncbar.org
North Dakota No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Carrie Molander
701-255-1404
carrie@sband.org
Oklahoma No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Karen "Sunny" Langdon
918-295-9422
karen.langdon@laok.org
Pennsylvania No Reporting Voluntary X http://www.pabar.org/pdf/StateBarArticleProBonoService.pdf. Also, http://www.pabar.org/public/probono/countyprobono.asp for a county-by-county report of pro bono activities Contact:
David Trevaskis
800-932-0311
david.trevaskis@pabar.org
Rhode Island No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Susan Fontaine
401-421-7722
sfontaine@ribar.com
South Carolina No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Jill Rothstein
803-799-6653
jill.rothstein@scbar.org
South Dakota No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Cheryl Hanna
605-222-5159
access.to.justice@sdbar.net
Utah No Reporting Unified Rule 6.1.S.Ct. rejected Bar Commission's mandatory proposal. Contact:
Michelle Harvey
801-297-7027
Michelle.Harvey@utahbar.org
Vermont No Reporting Voluntary S.Ct. Cmte. examining pro bono issues, including reporting. Contact:
Angele Court
802-863-7153
acourt@lawlinevt.org
West Virginia No Reporting Voluntary X Contact:
Catherine Eckley
866-401-6439
ceckley@lawv.net
Wisconsin No Reporting Unified X In 2006, Supreme Court's Ethics 2000 Commission proposed mandatory reporting. The State Bar opposed the changes, urging the Court to adopt ABA Model Rule 6.1 instead, which the court did - effective 7/1/07. Contact:
Jeff Brown
608-250-6177
jbrown@wisbar.org
Wyoming No Reporting Unified X Contact:
Nancy Shore
307-632-9061
nshore@wyomingbar.org
Updated: 05/18/2013

Back to Top